0%
0
to

In Germany...

…every year, 18 million tons of food, private households, industry, trade and large consumers are simply thrown away.

(Study WWF, 2018)

0
kg

You...

…are wasting an average of 90 kg food per person in your private household (based on Germany).

(Study WWF, 2018)

0
kg

At an event...

…with 100 guests, the conventional planning creates 39 kg of waste for the bin which equals an budget € 883.80 that could have been spent else.

(bttr.live)

bttr.live – MORE SUSTAINABILITY IN EVENT CATERING

bttr.live

The “bttr” is based on the word “better” (betə) and we have made it our mission to push live-communication and especially the event-planing or event-catering on the next level towards more sustainability.

What?

We see ourselves as an operative management consultancy and advisory who trains corporate clients, event and communication agencies as well as catering companies in their sustainable concepts and planning of catering. We support you right from the beginning in conception, tendering, planning to execution. We do not just talk smart, we are “hands-on” and deliver results instead of time-consuming and expensive consultation.

How?

We work closely with all the stakeholders of the catering process. Where required, we go one step further: we also work on-site as an implant, an integral part of your team, without any long-term contractual obligations. Project-wise or until the completion of your transformation.

Why?

At meetings and events, the buzzword “sustainability” is used often in combination with so-called “green meetings” and (zero) carbon footprint. This also holds true for events with large elements of catering. The Corporate Social Responsibility Reporting Obligation (CSR) has been set in force in 2017 and applies also to the catering industry. Organisations which are already subject to the mandatory reporting are required to proof the sustainable footprint of their suppliers for their events. It includes exhibition (trade fair) construction companies and the technology partners as well as caterers.

MORE SUSTAINABILITY IN EVENT CATERING

Planning and successfully realizing eco-friendly and sustainable catering events, however, often brings with it its own challenges and obstacles.

How do I ensure sustainable catering? By not indulging? Quite the contrary!

Both the event and the catering are simply calculated and realized in a more thoughtful way –resulting in possible savings of 12-15% compared to previous ways of planning.

The following pages will give you a compact and clear overview of our areas of activity, and the necessary measures to ensure the sustainable and climate-friendly optimization of event catering.

Even with a limited time budget, our analysis and coaching will help you keep all important sustainability criteria in mind, as well as plan and purchase in a budget-friendly way.

FACTS| FIGURES*

*All data collected by LECA catering companies that exclusively deal with event catering, and that generate more than € 1 M in revenue annually.

The Buffet

50% of catering services, i.e. every second order is a conventional buffet.

For this type of catering, a caterer charges around € 29.46 net per guest on average (just food – no staff, table top, logistics, etc.).

Of the food supplied at a buffet – at least 1.3 kg per guest and event – about 18% is not consumed. Add to that another 12-13% of food kept as reserves in the kitchen, and you have roughly 25-30% of all food that has to be disposed of by law.

Menu & Flying

25% of catering orders consist of sit-down meals or set menus.

15% of orders involve finger food or flying buffets.

For both catering options, the average calculated amount of food is between 690-800 grams and 500-720 grams, respectively.

The average cost – depending on the occasion (business lunch or gala menu, reception or as part of an event) – can be anywhere within an enormous range that is impossible to calculate in any meaningful way.

Despite personalized calculations and choosing a menu, there’s a significant amount of waste: it is safe to assume about 12-15%.  

The Bottom Line

Therefore, at an event with 100 people, 39 kg food are knowingly and willfully destroyed, which means € 883.80 are thrown into the garbage can.

(LECA – Leading Event Caterer of Germany)

bttr.live_Gänse

Are you ready?

...to go the new way, become more sustainable, act ecologically responsible and save up to 25% on costs with better quality?

HOW WE CAN SUPPORT YOU

Evaluation & Analysis

We analyze the current situation while looking at previous and current events, and determine the status quo of your company’s actions, by which we create the starting position for optimization.

Product Development

According to your company’s specific demands, we develop a new range of services for your catering (gladly in cooperation with your contractors) – while keeping current trends and nutritional necessities in mind.

Implementation

In order to implement the new range of services, we develop a guideline for sustainable orders and mindful handling of catering demands, so that you and your colleagues can act in a purposeful and savvy way.

Coaching & Sparring

Setting up focused expertise within the company and continuous support of relevant target groups through coaching, training, and exchange of experiences.

HOW WE WORK

There are numerous measures to stop this economic and ecological waste and to bring about a new approach to catering - with the right mindset, most are easy to implement.

FAST & RELIABLE

Internalized knowledge and years of experience with corresponding qualifications are the quality signifiers of our basis. No overhead, direct contact, and a far-reaching and reliable catering network.

AGILE

“The more you work according to a plan, the more likely it is to get what you’ve planned for – not what you need.” That’s why our work process is flexible, enabling us to keep expenditures low and adequate.

EFFECTIVE & EFFICIENT

Whenever necessary, we may use a disruptive approach that – if feasible – supersedes the previous process without any losses to you, or that complements the process in a profitable way. To ensure this, we use fast and lean processes by putting together flexible teams of experts with the required qualifications and experience.

HOW DO THESE MEASURES ADD VALUE?

CO2-neutrality, no-waste catering, fair trade, clean eating.

CO2-neutrality

We won’t be able to save the rain forests with our initiative, and neither do we want to compensate waste with Co2 certificates. We draw our conclusions by being responsible with resources and analyzing the entire event to see which factors are pollutive, how to minimize or, ideally, eliminate them.

No-waste catering

We will probably still need a trash can or two, but we can significantly reduce their number, as well as making sure the waste is cleaner. Single-use materials should be reduced to an absolute minimum, while we also evaluate which materials need to be used at all. And you will never sip your cocktail through a plastic straw again.

Fair trade & organic products

Of course, not every product can be produced locally or all year round. There’s also no need for an organic seal – ecologically sound farming is just as important. Whether it is absolutely necessary to have raspberries from Andalusia in November is anyone’s guess… but it is important that all products are sustainable, and that includes fair trade between producers and consumers.

Clean-Eating

A well-known concept to our predecessors, this important nutritional aspect has faded into obscurity in the last four decades – when it is so easy to implement: a respectful way of dealing with food. Simply knowing about ingredients, and preservation of nutrients through careful treatment can supply our bodies with all the energy necessary.

bttr.live - THE TEAM

Christian Lehnert

CHRISTIAN LEHNERT

INITIATOR & FOUNDER

Crazy about good food from an early age on, he trained to be a cook under Dieter L. Kaufmann (Zur Traube**) and has been passionately at it for almost 30 years: in the kitchen, catering for Gate Gourmet and crossair, leading catering companies like Käfer, Kofler Kompanie, DO & CO, LPS. Until today. Now he only cooks privately. His second passion is numbers and actions, and so analysis is a hobby to him – just like smooth and unfussy processes and logistics.

christian@bttr.live

Kathrin Schrub

KATHRIN SCHRUB

PARTNER | CHANGE EXPERT

With great passion and professionality, she’s been supervising change processes in businesses of various sizes and in different fields. Her personal focus is on winning people over for the changes required, taking them along on a path of optimizing behavior, and becoming more aware of the challenges and expectations in this day and age. She takes innovative approaches and has profound expertise in change management and change communication.

kathrin@bttr.live

Klaus Baumgartner

KLAUS BAUMGARTNER

PARTNER | SENIOR CONSULTANT

With 30 years of experience in the luxury hotel business and food service industry, and shaped by his mentor Eckart Witzigmann, he himself has shaped several businesses such as the vegetarian TIAN in Vienna and Munich through the sustainable treatment of food. The recycling management at Stiegl Gut Wildshut revealed to him that new approaches are necessary. As a father of three children, future-oriented thinking and working are issues very close to his heart.

klaus@bttr.live

Say “hello” to more sustainability!

NEWSDESK (+ some gossip)

bttr.live in the press and in the i-net

Mehr!
konferenz + tagung, 03 2018, Sonderausgabe
29.11.2018
Interview mit Christian Lehnert zum Thema Nachhaltigkeit in der Sonderausgabe 03 2018 von konferenz + tagung.
Mehr!
Landgut STOBER triff bttr.live
10.12.2018
Michael Stober und Küchenchef Andreas Schmidt nach dem Besuch von bttr.live
Mehr!
event.hospitality Blach Report Sonderausgabe 2.18
14.12.2018
Sonderausgabe 02 2018 von event.hospitality Interview mit Christian Lehnert zu Nachhaltigkeit im Catering
without
https://bttr.live/wp-content/themes/hazel/
https://bttr.live/?lang=en
#c1c1c1
style1
default
Loading posts...
/var/www/web1572/html/bttr/
#
on
none
loading
#
Sort Gallery
on
yes
yes
off
off
off

0%
0
to

Deutschlandweit...

…werden jährlich 18 Millionen Tonnen Lebensmittel in Landwirtschaft, Privathaushalten, Industrie, Handel und Großverbrauchern einfach weggeworfen.

(Studie des WWF, 2018)

0
kg

Sie persönlich...

…verschwenden als durchschnittlicher Verbraucher in Deutschland 90kg pro Kopf an Lebensmitteln pro Jahr.

(Studie des WWF, 2018)

0
kg

Bei einer Veranstaltung...

…mit 100 Personen werden bei konventioneller Planung 39 kg Speisen vernichtet und somit € 883,80 in den Speiserestebehälter geworfen.

(bttr.live)

MEHR NACHHALTIGKEIT IM CATERING UND FÜR VERANSTALTUNGEN

bttr.live

„bttr“ ist angelehnt an das englische „better“ (ˈbetə) und entstanden aus der festen Überzeugung und der für uns zwingend daraus entstandenen Aufgabe, die Live-Kommunikation der MICE Branche und im Besonderen das Food & Beverage Produkt, das Event- bzw. Veranstaltungscatering „besser“ und nachhaltiger zu gestalten.

Was?

Wir verstehen uns als eine operative Unternehmensberatung. Unser Angebot richtet sich gleichermaßen an Event- & Kommunikationsagenturen, Firmenkunden, Messegesellschaften, Hotels  und natürlich auch Cateringunternehmen. In erster Linie sorgen wir für die nachhaltige Konzeption und Planung von des Food & Beverage Produkts. Dabei unterstützen wir von der Konzeption, der Ausschreibung, über die detaillierte Planung bis hin zur Durchführung, d.h. wir reden nicht nur schlau daher, wir sind auch „hands-on“ und liefern entsprechende Ergebnisse statt unendlicher Beratung.

Wie?

Dabei arbeiten wir eng vernetzt mit allen Stakeholdern des Prozesses Catering und gehen, wo notwendig, auch einen Schritt weiter: wir arbeiten direkt bei Ihnen vor Ort als Implant, also als ein integraler Bestandteil Ihres Teams. Ohne langfristige Vertragsverpflichtungen. Projektweise oder bis hin zum Abschluss Ihrer Transformation.

Warum?

Nicht nur bei Veranstaltungen ist das Buzzword „Nachhaltigkeit“, gerne in Kombination mit den sogenannten „Green Meetings“ und dem CO2-Fußabdruck in aller Munde, es gehört mittlerweile zum guten Ton – nur das allein reicht leider nicht.

Gerade in Anbetracht der seit 2017 geltenden Corporate Social Responsibility-Berichtspflicht (CSR), die auch die Caterer betrifft, gilt: Unternehmen, die bereits heute der Berichtspflicht unterliegen, fordern für ihre Veranstaltungen und Maßnahmen den Nachweis einer nachhaltigen Wertschöpfung ihrer Lieferanten, dies gilt für die Agentur, das Cateringunternehmen genauso, wie für den Messebauer, den Ausstatter und weitere Gewerke.

MEHR NACHHALTIGKEIT IM CATERING UND FÜR VERANSTALTUNGEN

Ein Catering umweltfreundlich und nachhaltig zu planen und konsequent umzusetzen, birgt oft Herausforderungen und Widerstände.

Wie gestalte ich das Catering nachhaltig? Verzicht? Nein, ganz im Gegenteil!

Das Event und das Catering wird überlegter geplant und realisiert – dabei ergibt sich durchschnittlich ein Einsparungspotential von 12 – 15% gegenüber der bisherigen Planung.

Wir vermitteln Ihnen nachstehend einen kompakten und anschaulichen Überblick über unsere Handlungsfelder und die notwendigen Maßnahmen zur nachhaltigen und klimafreundlichen Optimierung eines Caterings.

Unsere Analyse und Coaching werden Ihnen helfen, auch mit einem geringen Zeitbudget keine wesentlichen Nachhaltigkeitskriterien bei Ihren künftigen Veranstaltungen außer Acht zu lassen und budgetschonend zu planen und durchzuführen.

FAKTEN| ZAHLEN*

*Angaben erhoben bei LECA- Leading Event Caterer, die Vereinigung der führenden Event-Catering-Unternehmen Deutschlands.

Das Buffet

50% der bestellten Services im Catering, also jede 2. Bestellung ist ein konventionelles Buffet.

Für diese Form des Caterings berechnet ein Caterer im Durchschnitt einen Preis von € 29,46 netto pro Gast (nur Speisen, kein Personal, Table-top, Logistik usw.).

Von den auf einem Buffet bereitgestellten Speisen – immerhin 1,3 kg pro Gast pro Veranstaltung – werden mindestens 18% nicht verzehrt, hinzu kommen weitere 10-12% als Reserve vorgehaltene Mengen an Speisen im Wirtschaftsbereich/ Küche, sodass ca. 25 – 30% aller Speisen laut gesetzlicher Bestimmungen entsorgt werden müssen.

Menu & Flying

25% der bestellten Services im Catering sind ein gesetztes Essen/ Menu.

15% Anteil an den Bestellungen haben Fingerfood bzw. Flying Buffets.

Für diese beiden Darreichungsformen werden durchschnittlich 690 – 800 Gramm bzw. 500 – 720 Gramm an Speisen kalkuliert.

Der durchschnittliche Preis bewegt sich – je nach Anlass der Bestellung (Lunch oder Galadinner, nur zum Empfang oder veranstaltungsbegleitend) – innerhalb einer enormen Bandbreite, die nicht repräsentativ ermittelt werden kann.

Trotz der personenbezogener Kalkulation und Auswahl eines Menus entstehen erhebliche Abfallvolumina: ca. 12 – 15% für beide Cateringvarianten können als gesichert angenommen werden.

Das Fazit

Bei einer Veranstaltung mit 100 Personen werden somit bis zu 39 kg Speisen bereitgestellt, nicht verzehrt und vernichtet und damit werden auch € 883,80 in den Speiserestebehälter geworfen.

* LECA – Leading Event Caterer, die Vereinigung der führenden Event-Catering-Unternehmen in Deutschland.

bttr.live_Gänse

Sind Sie bereit?

…den neuen Weg zu gehen, nachhaltiger zu werden, ökologisch verantwortlich zu handeln und bei besserer Qualität Ihre Ökonomie um bis zu 25% Kosten zu steigern?

WIE WIR SIE DABEI UNTERSTÜTZEN

Bestandsaufnahme & Analyse

Wir analysieren die aktuelle Situation anhand bisheriger Veranstaltungen und ggf. aktuell laufender Vorgänge und ermitteln den Status-quo des gegenwärtigen Handelns in Ihrem Unternehmen. Damit schaffen wir die Ausgangsposition zur Optimierung.

Produktentwicklung

Anhand der konkreten Bedarfe in Ihrem Unternehmen entwickeln wir, gerne auch mit Ihren Rahmenvertragspartnern, eine neue Angebotspalette für das Catering – natürlich unter Berücksichtigung aktueller Trends und ernährungsphysiologischer Notwendigkeiten.

Implementierung

Zur Implementierung der neuen Angebotspalette entwickeln wir einen Leitfaden für nachhaltige Bestellungen und den bewussten Umgang mit Cateringbedarfen. Damit Sie und Ihre Mitarbeiter zielsicher und versiert agieren.

Coaching & Sparring

Aufbau gezielter Expertise im Unternehmen und kontinuierliche Begleitung von relevanten Zielgruppen durch Coaching, Schulungen und moderierter Erfahrungsaustausch.

WIE WIR ARBEITEN

Es gibt zahlreiche Maßnahmen, diese wirtschaftliche und ökologische Verschwendung zu stoppen und einen neuen Umgang mit Catering zu bewirken.
Mit dem richtigen Mind-Set sind die meisten ganz einfach umzusetzen…

SCHNELL & VERLÄSSLICH

Verinnerlichtes Wissen und jahrelange Erfahrung mit entsprechender Qualifikation sind Qualitätsmerkmale unserer Basis. Kein Overhead, direkte Ansprechpartner, weitreichendes und belastbares Netzwerk im Catering, Gastronomie, Hotellerie und eine Brauerei gehört auch dazu.

AGIL

„Je mehr Du nach einem Plan arbeitest, desto eher erhältst Du das, was Du geplant hast und nicht das, was du brauchst.“ Deswegen sind unsere Prozesse agil, was uns ermöglicht den Aufwand angemessen und möglichst flach zu halten.

EFFEKTIV & EFFIZIENT

Wir wenden bei Bedarf eine disruptive Vorgehensweise an, die den bisherigen Prozess – wenn sinnvoll – ohne negative Einbußen für Sie ablöst oder ihn gewinnbringend ergänzt. Dafür nutzen wir schnelle und schlanke Prozesse mit sich immer neu-findenden Teams von Experten, je nach benötigter Qualifikation und Erfahrung.

WELCHEN MEHRWERT DIE MAßNAHMEN HABEN

CO2-Neutralität, Abfallfreies Catering, Fair-Trade, Clean-Eating

CO2-Neutralität

Die tropischen Regenwälder im Amazonas und sonstwo auf der Welt werden wir mit unserer Initiative nicht retten können, ebenso möchten wir Verschwendung nicht mit CO2-Zertifikaten kompensieren. Der verantwortungsvolle Umgang mit Ressourcen und die Analyse der gesamten Veranstaltung lässt genügend Rückschlüsse zu, welche die umweltbelastenden Faktoren sind und wie diese minimiert und im besten Fall abgestellt werden können.

Abfallfreies Catering

Die eine oder andere Mülltonne wird sich nicht verhindern lassen, jedoch lässt sich die Zahl und die Abfallmenge durch unsere Maßnahmen nicht nur signifikant reduzieren, auch der Inhalt wird reiner. Einwegmaterialien sollen auf ein absolutes Minimum reduziert werden und auch hier wird geprüft, welches Material überhaupt noch zum Einsatz kommen muss und darf. Und den Cocktail werden Sie nie wieder mit einem Plastiktrinkhalm „schlürfen“.

Fair-Trade & Bioprodukte

Natürlich sind nicht alle Produkte regional zu produzieren und jederzeit verfügbar. Es muss nicht immer das Biosiegel (und welches der vielen?) sein, gute ökologische Landwirtschaft ist genauso wertvoll. Ob es im November Himbeeren aus Andalusien sein müssen, sei dahingestellt. Wichtig ist, dass alle Produkte nachhaltig sind und dazu gehört ein fairer Handel zwischen den Erzeugern und den Konsumenten.

Clean-Eating

Unseren Vorgängergenerationen wohlbekannt, ist dieser wichtige Ernährungsaspekt in den letzten vier Jahrzehnten zunehmend in Vergessenheit geraten und ist doch so einfach umzusetzen: der respektvolle Umgang mit Lebensmitteln. Allein schon das Wissen um Inhaltsstoffe und den Erhalt von Nährstoffen durch eine schonende Behandlung, wird dem menschlichen Organismus die gespeicherte Energie zur Verfügung gestellt.

bttr.live - DAS TEAM

Christian Lehnert

CHRISTIAN LEHNERT

INITIATOR & GRÜNDER

Schon seit Kindesbeinen vernarrt in Lebensmittel und gutes Essen lernte er Koch in der legendären Traube und ist seit fast 30 Jahren mit Leidenschaft dabei: in der Küche, im Catering für Gate Gourmet und crossair, bei und für führende Cateringunternehmen wie Käfer München und Berlin, Kofler & Kompanie, DO & CO, LPS. Bis heute. In der Küche allerdings nur privat. Seine zweite Leidenschaft gilt Zahlen und Funktionen und so ist die Analyse ein Steckenpferd, genauso wie reibungs- und geräuschlose Abläufe und Logistik bei Veranstaltungen.

christian@bttr.live

Kathrin Schrub

KATHRIN SCHRUB

PARTNERIN | CHANGE EXPERTIN

Mit großer Leidenschaft und entsprechender Professionalität begleitet sie seit Jahren Änderungsprozesse in Unternehmen unterschiedlichster Branchen und Größen. Die Menschen dabei für die Veränderungen zu gewinnen und auf dem Weg zu neuen Ausrichtungen, optimierten Verhaltensweisen und mehr Bewusstsein über die Erfordernisse der heutigen Zeit mitzunehmen, sind ihr persönliches Steckenpferd. Dafür bringt sie innovative Ansätze und fundierte Expertise im Change Management und Change Communication mit.

kathrin@bttr.live

Klaus Baumgartner

KLAUS BAUMGARTNER

PARTNER | SENIOR BERATER

Mit 30 Jahren Berufserfahrung in der Top Hotellerie und Gastronomie, geprägt von seinem Mentor Eckart Witzigmann, prägte er ebenso viele Betriebe wie zum Beispiel das vegetarische TIAN in Wien und München mit der nachhaltigen Umgangsweise mit Lebensmitteln. Die Kreislaufwirtschaft im Stiegl Gut Wildshut zeigte ihm auf, dass neue Wege notwendig werden. Als Vater dreier Kinder liegt ihm zukunftsorientiertes Denken und Arbeiten sehr am Herzen.

klaus@bttr.live

Sagen Sie "Hallo" zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit!

NEUIGKEITEN | AKTUELLES

bttr.live in der Presse und im Netz

Mehr!
konferenz + tagung, 03 2018, Sonderausgabe
29.11.2018
Interview mit Christian Lehnert zum Thema Nachhaltigkeit in der Sonderausgabe 03 2018 von konferenz + tagung.
Mehr!
Landgut STOBER triff bttr.live
10.12.2018
Michael Stober und Küchenchef Andreas Schmidt nach dem Besuch von bttr.live
Mehr!
event.hospitality Blach Report Sonderausgabe 2.18
14.12.2018
Sonderausgabe 02 2018 von event.hospitality Interview mit Christian Lehnert zu Nachhaltigkeit im Catering
without
https://bttr.live/wp-content/themes/hazel/
https://bttr.live/
#c1c1c1
style1
default
Loading posts...
/var/www/web1572/html/bttr/
#
on
none
loading
#
Sort Gallery
on
yes
yes
off
off
off